A turtle poem for inspiration

Lidia Almeida
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readFeb 2, 2017
IG: @ lidiasalmeida

My best friend was a girl
Of dark hair and banana smell
I had my eyes still shut the morning she arrived
And I never knew where from

On the warm sand she lay by my side
And I never knew why
For our island asks no questions
And neither do I

She had a strange way of living
Her halved days
Unduly moving
Secretly disquieted by the approximation of her last
With questions to which I could not reply

We were as young as we were blind
Ignorant to the existence of time
It went by.
She went by.

But the world is still to come
And she will live long after I’m gone
Written down.

Harriet, are you happy now?

What about now?

--

--

Lidia Almeida
Poets Unlimited

Anxiety-based lifeform with a passion for movement, nature, linguistics, science, art, learning useless skills and daydreaming. Find me on IG @ lidiasalmeida