“Ulysses and sirens” by Herbert Draper

A Voice Whispers

Mitchell Holloway
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readNov 21, 2018

--

Deep inside a voice whispers,
It’s telling me to grow.
I whisper back “it’s hard”,
“The ‘old me’ won’t let go”

Distractions calling like sirens,
Off course I get pulled daily.
Bound like Ulysses to the mast,
Change is never plain sailing.

Do we write our own life story?
Or are we reading from a script?
I take two steps forward,
Then stumble and trip.

Am I missing something here,
In a rush to finish this race.
Just to stand on the podium,
A confused look upon my face.

Truth is life is just a script,
But it’s written in pencil.
You can choose your own words,
Ignore society’s stencil.

Deep inside a voice whispers,
It’s telling me to grow.
I whisper back “I’m ready”,
“Sit back and enjoy the show”

--

--