Adelphos

N C Luck
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readAug 5, 2016

--

Time is my only constant,
and that may be the only thing
I
do
know.

I can feel the change,
softly erasing my imagination
that
is
memory.

The fading wouldn’t be a bother,
if not for the tearing pain
in
my
tissue.

I wish we could just pause here,
in the middle of our untaken breath,
hiding
above
it all.

Hold my hand, ignoring violent trembles,
and memorize the hard and soft of
these
unangelic
hands.

Tighter! Until the burning is a blaze
and we become untouchable in the greedy
eye
of
time.

We could stay here, you and I,
throwing fears down at the world for
shameful
guilty
sport.

I would not leave, if only for your company,
but tricks are sewn and seen, Adelphos, and
I
saw
you.

How could you stay here with this lost girl,
after tasting the
precious gold
of untamed
life?

--

--

N C Luck
Poets Unlimited

I don’t want to write something that you have never known, I want to write something that you have always known to show you that you are not alone.