After Water

Stefon Napier
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJul 21, 2018

Nobody knows what they want

and that’s the simplest proof that God exists.

I’ve been dying in this city for almost

two years now.

The rubbery feel of snow beneath my boots is

great in the winter time but the rest of life is sort of vexing.

I’ve resolved what I want for dinner most days

But being alone on the back porch at evening brings no

balance to things.

Sure, my cotton shirts feel good;

Warm and well stitched.

And my muscles are still tight;

I might throw the neighbors crazy dog tomorrow.

But I burned my steaks today.

I stayed in the shower for half an hour.

The digital clock on the dresser accused me all night long.

There are days like this after baptism.

--

--

Stefon Napier
Poets Unlimited

Stefon Napier is a unknown poet specializing in short prose form. He occasionally writes about American Christianity and is a growing follower of Jesus.