All of Me

Debbie Aruta-Watkins
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readAug 14, 2016
Leaves Wrestling at My Feet

Leaves wrestling around my heart,
gently blowing to and fro, the anticipation
of falling down.

Life takes my fears and floats them away like a leaf in a breeze,
and then dashes them into solid ground, breaking my spirit.
Time has passed for me to gather more courage,
but I stand frozen in a puddle of fear.

Branches barren from the cold unending inside of me,
thieving to steal my life right off of them.
Binding my blood into my veins,
culminating feelings, my soul exposed.

Empty nest of emotions, tipping as the wind blows,
parts of my history gathered,weathered, ready to crack and fall.
Wafts of air stealing my memories,
leaving me barren like an empty pumpkin patch
after the fall.

The rain is pouring the evil of my life,
my sins naked before their faces.
Floating down a river, exposed scars,
my spirit now devoid of all thoughts.

Emptiness, suffocating, numbness, tingling.

My mind is quivering in fear.
What will happen now that nothing is left of me?
Just an unbreakable outer shell standing silently,
all emotions gone, bled out of me, I am a hull.

Love embraces me so hard till my pain subsides,
encircling around me from the inside.
Fingers stroking my veins,
my blood begins surging within my skin.

I am now open to loving again,
a flood of sentiment fills my flatland's.
Once again I inhale hope,exhale anger.
Once again I am free to love.

Warmth, Hope, Rejuvenation, and Love Return.
My next chapter begins.

--

--