Ambition over Peace

Toshita
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readDec 16, 2018
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

In the wilderness, they call the world
I lost you
With some highs and downs
I could have stopped, maybe
But then what might have I chosen
My aspirations, my ambitions
Or a sliver of peace that you imparted
Or that peace and safety
Over my life’s roadmap
You see, it wasn’t me that broke us
It was the world
It was the obsession
And it was the choice
Now, that you are gone
I sit here,
Night after night
I replay those moments of peace
Of kindness, and of care
Every other memory asks me, ‘what if’
What if I’d have let you stay
Would my ambitions become weary?
What if I drag you back
Will I consume too much of your ‘precious’ time?
What if I let the things be as they are
Would deleting your contact help?
And every moment leaves me
With a smile and with teary eyes
I recall, you once said, ‘You are special’
And I assumed it to mean ‘forever’
But alas, ‘forever’ is just a word
A word to create mysteries and fantasies
Well, now all that is left is acceptance
Coz you have gone into the wilderness, they call the world

--

--

Toshita
Poets Unlimited

"You think, I do not belong because you have not seen me in the mud. But, how can you see me when i am dirty, if i shower every night?"