Photograph by Martin Harvey/ Alamy

An Abode to Grieve

Sanah Agrawal
Poets Unlimited
1 min readJul 21, 2016

--

The sweet atmosphere reeks of my temperament.

My thoughts-

resonating the sound of the bell so saccharine that it

shrills your spine.

I drown in the Revolution of threads- so many threads-

Red thread on top of red thread

on top of yellow on top of red

on top of yellow

Swirls,

Spins,

Suspends,

Fatigues.

I have rendered your resolve null,

while basking in your exhilaration-

with flavours of decadent confections,

thawing your taste buds.

I gush-

as the holy river slowly scorching down your throat-

as the whirring of prayer deafening the surrounding silence.

My disposition-

that unceasing rotation of rosary beads-

Ram over Krishna over-

Ram over Krishna

over Ram - then Krishna-Hare Ram-Hare Krishna

rings your neck.

Ingrained in my being rose the passion destined to swathe you into your eclipse.

Your light only a penumbra to the shadow of my darkness.

A Paradox will I be-

A gallery to commemorate - An abode to grieve?

While you voyage from one realm to the next

I only sail between the seas.

--

--