And I stood there

Triyansha Vijay
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readMar 15, 2017

It started with a cup of tea,
A bit too sweet:
Served hot on a lazy afternoon,
Peppered with drizzles:
Looking like bubbles in an aquarium.

In what looked like the fading crimson sun,
I imagined the invading parade of stars,
Wearing a violet veil, eloping into the wilderness
Like wolves, chattering onto the white noise.
Louder and louder still.

And before I could realize,
I was on the terrace,
Flinching with every drop
like I was being tickled to wake up.

And I stood there
Until even my eyelids,
heavy and drenched,
Were shut closed with a shiver

And I stood there
Fathoming a perfect ending for my story,
where all adventure would sit exhausted
In ancient sands, somewhere near the horizon

And I stood there
Whispering words to myself, sipping their sounds
And grafting them together like a gardener,
To somehow fruit into the color of my thoughts.

And I stood there
Looking at my feeble inspiration,
Climb like a bittersweet vine, and spill beyond
The fences I had drawn for my imagination.

And I stood there
In the bliss of my blizzard
Stirring chalices of incoherence,
Taking time to taste every new flavor.

And I stood there
Until the rain stopped,
Until I was ready for a fresh dollop of mischief
Until I smelled another cup of tea
Brewing round the corner…

--

--

Triyansha Vijay
Poets Unlimited

"Aren't we all lost stars... trying to light up the dark?" Thanks for reading!