Arya’s list: a prayer

Dr. Furaha Asani
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readMay 24, 2016

Heartbreaker

Nemesis

Backstabber

Judas

Lannister

Pessimist

Human adder

Brutus…

Dear Lord, when did my life get to this?

when did my heart become stone after Judas’ kiss

when did the bitterness claw deep and take root

why did I trust in Julius Caesar’s brute

and that is how life become a game to seek my vengeance

so that one by one, I evicted all my heart’s happy tenants

and sold pounds of flesh and tissue to the crows:

grief, sadness, anger and tumultous woes

and lest I forget who was deserving of my vengeful emotions

night by night, name by name, I practiced my recitations

and my list become somewhat of a vampirous friend

sucking my blood and exhausting me and pulling me into the deep end

Dear Lord, how did I ever let myself get to this

I miss and crave the honesty in a true friend’s kiss

I miss the days of healthy and evergreen shoots

where there was hope and love and laughter even within my broots

when my heart was pure and authentic in it’s penance

so that one by one, rays of light gained entrance

and my flesh and tissue bloomed with every kind of rose:

comfort, happiness, peace and witty prose

and lest I forget how to find my way back to that ocean

the living waters that I can drink to bless me with re-animation

I will seek guidance from You my divine and omnipotent Friend

Giver of my life, Healer of a heart that is spent.

--

--

Dr. Furaha Asani
Poets Unlimited

Migrant. Postdoctoral researcher. Teacher. Mental Health Advocate. Writer. Professional in the streets, loud on the sheets of paper.