Atheist @ Christmas lunch with his mother named Mary

Space Age Bonobo
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readDec 14, 2017
Caravaggio/The Incredulity of Saint Thomas

@ the table to me my mother said
Who grew you?
Who could’ve birthed you?
Not me!
I’m a Christian thoroughbred
of God’s people who chose Moses to lead from the riverbed
& I’m on my way to meet Him in Heaven after I’m dead

I say,
there is no reason for leeway
& there is no way I’m eating this old horse hay
I no longer pretend to believe in the old way of yesterday
that old cliche holding sway over what we’re allowed to say
Those fictions are dead!
Fact is humanity has no godhead
& Religion has killed more than war, the old sages said

Wanna lace a working artist’s palm? Just clap.
Copyright©Niel Vaughan, 2019. All Rights Reserved

--

--