Autumn on the Pond | Meilssa Zeligman

Autumn Muse | Winter Is Near

Melissa Mirabai Zeligman
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readSep 26, 2017

--

Can you feel the chill in the air?
Darkness comes earlier and the light is diffused
as we make our turn to autumn.
The green is fading and the wind hastens
the shedding of the canopy that covered
and cooled us all summer.

A few more warm days.
A few more nights in the pool.
New freckles on my shoulder
and the last of the garden tomatoes.
Just one more watermelon
and dinner under the stars.

Then bring on the color and the crisp of fall.
Apple butter, Beaujolais and cashmere.
Layers of wool and down on the bed.
Candlelight, wood fire and whisky.

I know warmth but I crave the chill.
I like my skin rosy and my arms covered with goosebumps.
Yes, the heat of the sun provides its own magic.
The cold calls me to awaken and to be present.
Desire takes root in the cool, dark of the season.
And quietly simmers throughout the winter.
The alchemy of want, dreams, closure and creativity.
True desire is a slow burn.
It infuses and swells,
It gathers energy and trusts.
Awaiting her turn to emerge.

Winter gives the breath form and makes the body pulse.
It calls us to survive in a potent way.
It makes me want to feed and nourish you.
To warm you with touch and embrace.
And to hear all of your secrets and desires.

The act of warming is intimate and intense.
It requires closeness and credence
Merging mystery and surrender.
I fall in love during this time.
I find my voice and my mission in this season.

Those who rue the coming season
May disagree or even curse me.
I understand and wish you an easy winter.
But the best of me is yet to be revealed.
Come closer and see for yourself.
I promise I will keep you warm.

Melissa Mirabai Zeligman

--

--

Melissa Mirabai Zeligman
Poets Unlimited

Woman, artist, poet, demure deviant, culinary concubine & says anything in the dark. Motto: both/and Mantra: No pleasure, no treasure. Desires all things SOFT