Behind The Lens

Pamela Morrison
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJan 26, 2018

Hop on and off the bus
Taking selfies for your feed
Your gallery
Of scenes from Game of Thrones
Or the latest Netflix drop
Don’t talk to locals
No time for conversations
Let’s do a vine
A photo book, a story
Leave something more meaningful
For a following
The happy online bubble
Where life is far more colourful
Than real
A staging of an experience
A replay on instagram
An illusion of how happy I am
Leaning over a sheer drop
With a selfie stick to get the shot
The makeup highlighted to perfection
Having watched Kim’s online demonstration
Hair flowing in the breeze
Lipstick matching my bright top
Eyes kissed with a shade of shadow to make them pop
A perfect, imperfect representation
Once cropped
With no feeling
Wow what a lucky shot
Now let’s take all this camouflage off

--

--

Pamela Morrison
Poets Unlimited

Discoverist, writing of life, love, obstacles, change & other things. Problems are my catnip and troubleshooting my fuel. My accidental poetry keeps me sane.