Break of day: A song in two voices

benjamin weinberg
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJan 24, 2017

--

The bird song is swelling
bird song is swelling

the dawn must not be far behind
dawn not far behind

inside
inside, rising to my surface

there is also a rising tide
a bubble

a somehow soft and sharp
soft and sharp

bubble of happiness
ready to explode

a feeling you close
this feeling your love

the night ending
right here inside me

and with it
night is ending

so much flees
and my forebodings flee

so much that I embroider in its darker margin
my embroideries within its bounded margins

so much that is given weight and substance
sewn monotone, so dark in weight and substance

but then the shadowed matrix slips away
are swirled away

and only
leaving me this feeling

this feeling is left
a somehow sharp and soft

a somehow sharp and soft
bubbling joy

bubbling joy
of love rising up in me

--

--

benjamin weinberg
Poets Unlimited

Writer, walker, poet, educator. Commercial fisherman, builder, donut maker, organic grower. Boston, U. City, Maine, South Africa, Madrid.