KD Lit Yogi
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJun 17, 2016

--

“Fishtails and Fast Balls”

Cast, back cast, haul, hook.
“Help; let’s tie some flies.”
Brownies, Rainbows and Brooks
From the Mink Hallow and Bushkill.

Slippery rocks and cold water,
Maybe the winning cast.
Clean ’em, fry ’em, eat ‘em.
“Careful of the bones.”

Catch, throw, catch, throw,
“Here, I’ll show you how to do it.”
Give me a bat;
Give me a ball;
Give me a glove.
Play all day.
Never give up.

Dirt caked socks,
Grass stained pants,
Slide mark mud,
In just the right spots.

Fly Fishing and Baseball,
My father’s two passions.
Etched in my memory,
These lessons of life,
To pursue what you love.

--

--

KD Lit Yogi
Poets Unlimited

Lit. teaching mama, thoughtful yogi, observing poet, embracing our world… dekoskie@gmail.com