Chaff not the Hound

Fox Kerry
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJan 10, 2017

I have one task to do, you see, my meal at day’s end is impacted

The warmth of the stew and the gravy entailed all depends on the role I have acted.

So if I offend with my hackles raised up, and your poor little babe becomes frightened

Please know it is nothing of personal ends, just a security post I must tighten.

For standing on guard is an honor we dogs never take lightly or with half heart

And chasing the hoodlum and invader away is on this stage a quite decent part.

Believe me I’ve seen hounds with far poorer station; I’ve seen them wear much harsher fetter.

A friend I yapped at just a morning ago had seen an old mate chasing biscuits in a sweater!

--

--

Fox Kerry
Poets Unlimited

If you paint for me even one thing which is true, perhaps I’ll be tempted to consider two. I tell tales poetically, someone else needs to set them to music.