Colors of my life

Kathy Jacobs
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readMay 18, 2018
Hawaiian Rainbow, circa 2006 — Image by Kathy Jacobs

I grew up blue
Westinghouse blue
Turquoise blue
Blue as the sky
After a snowy day
Blue in the face
When I couldn’t breath
When the water was
Too cold to really swim
A blue bear to hug
When I felt too blue
Blue eyes that saw
Too much, not too well

I was bright green
For all my childhood
My teen years too
Hues of green
Green as scout
Green as the grass
Green as the trees
Green and gold
Like the football
Team my family loved

A pair of golden saxes
Spitting music from my soul
Gold leaves falling off trees
Birthday time brought
Gold jewelry as I grew
Supposed to remind me
Of happier times
But felt like a bribe
Remembered
At each glance

I spent an early year
Orange
Orange walls
Orange bed
Orange linens
Fitting in
About as easily
As orange rhymes

Blue came back
In high school
With red and white
To keep it company
Uniforms for band
Couldn’t hide how
Out of place I felt

College brought
Orange back
With black
To keep it
Company
College colors
That cheer me still

White for a year
Of weddings
Love that lasts
Love that grows
Red for the man
Who holds my heart
His smile
His love
His laugh

Green came back
As I grew older
Back in Scouts
From the other side
Packer fan for life
Yeah that too

Deep purple
Uniforms at home
Bright orange
On the road
For every game
Phoenix Mercury
Colors make me cheer
A fan since day one

Purple means
Family too
Best friend
Sister by choice
Purple makes her smile
Yellow for her daughter
Daughter of my heart
As much as my son is

This rainbow of colors
Has kept me company
Brightly cheerily
Curves from life
Pulled the pieces
Into place
Rainbow named
Rainbow lover
Sign of promises
That makes my life
Complete

--

--

Kathy Jacobs
Poets Unlimited

💚POMpoet💚 Former software tester, still breaking things. Social Media geek. Former OneNote MVP. Phoenix Mercury fan. Green Bay Packer fan.