Constellations

Mahmoud Awad
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMar 14, 2017

At first I thought you were a constellation
Like Orion in the night sky
You held out your crossbow and arrow
And aimed straight for my heart

I saw that you had your patterns
You made out to be Andromeda
Cassiopeia in an eternal flame
A galaxy of a distant kind

So I made a plan to save us
And I offered myself in sacrifice
No glory was in the stardust
Like Aries you are immortalized

Could you hear the shouts that I did
A warning from the clouds
I threw stones so they would part
And an arrow on Taurus was found

I was wrong to write you in the stars
At first I thought you were a constellation
Greater than ever now, I learn
You were my universe in revelation

--

--

Mahmoud Awad
Poets Unlimited

Not a reader, writer, medical student, basketball addict, and reasonably insane person.