Court of Thieves

Immanuel R. Knight
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readNov 1, 2016

I stood there on All-Hallows morning,
Against barren streets and bitter roads;
Staring off between the dark of what time could be,
As creatures crept from low abodes.

I was frozen by fear, mocked by death,
As the first rose from the bleakness of my austerity;
“My name is filth”, it said taking a bow,
“I am here to tell of your integrity.”

Another came with the first,
I gasped for air, but none found me;
“My name is envy”, it said tipping its hat,
“I am here to take show of life’s frivolity.”

It would seem that nightmares come in threes,
For no sooner had I turned that a third appeared;
“My name is greed”, it said biting a coin,
“I am here to invest in what you’ve feared.”

I ran as fast as I could from the spot,
Time seemingly drawn out between dimmest starlight;
My running took me nowhere, and I was lost to the dark
A voice called from behind my own skull: “There will be no flight!”

Chills filled my every pore, and I stood frozen in the dead-dream;
Caught against the three creatures, more emerged from the dark!
They laughed at me, scorning my powerlessness;
I screamed, but no air left my lungs. There were none to hark!

I fought them, but an infinity of their legions rose against me!
They tormented me for ages in the span of but a few moments;
“We are you”, they jeered,
“Everything you’ve ever feared, Hell’s bestowments!”

“We try you for what you are — a coward before the fire!”
“No!” I yelled, “It cannot be!”
They laughed and continued at their torment;
“We are all that you have ever sought and seen!”

Within moments they faded, as a neighbor tapped my arm;
“Are you alright?” they asked, fearing my spellbound vacancy.
“I shall be fine, I suppose,” and so departed.
I came to then what was once home, a place now all but empty;
I sat on my bed, wondering as a wicked dawn broke…

“Of what devils do try me?”

--

--

Immanuel R. Knight
Poets Unlimited

Don’t let the dark times get you down. Wandering ways with words.