Coward, II

thewrathofsponge
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readSep 9, 2017

Part I

Under god and chartered planes I must run
There are forest fires everywhere and
I have the extinguisher here and
I know what to do but
I cannot

I do not

I run.
On land and above water
Exercising my reach and power
Over the forest fires
I know I will go back
Once my fears go black
Though I fear, that day is a dream-state

The fear is the walls around my heart’s estate.

Part II

“Why do you run?”

I am the wind
Hoping the obstacles around me don’t catch wind of my cowardice.

“Why do you run?”

I am the wind
But I am drowning and feigning swimming
Everyone else notices but they cannot speak.
They need to milk me for all my worth before I run

“Why do you run?”

I am the wind,
I carry the relentless whispers that ask me things.
Dear Lord, give me wings
Let me fly above you
If you exist.

“Why do you run?”

I am the wind
Because it’s easier than standing
And fighting

Fighting is messy
And cannot be done within my bed.

Part III

Under god and chartered planes I must run
Cowardice offers no “fun”
Only a calm routine
I am the reckless youth,
I must be brave enough to break things up
And reshape the world.

--

--