Crazy One

Sébastien F. Dejean
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readJan 17, 2017

Why can’t I be the crazy one?
You know the one that preaches to the stars
the one that ultimately smile while crossing a busy boulevard
unaware of traffic, blind to reality
just captivated by the moment’s pure symphony
and the moon’s glorious decency

Why can’t I be the one who screams apocalyptic verses?
You know the one lying at the corner of the street
the one that no one seems to care for, with bursting feet
I run in a frenzy, come up to your quizzical face
say that it’s not about money, class or race
but about sanity and your heart’s true grace.

Why can’t I be the crazy one?
You know the one you never seem to want to hear
the truth may be at the tip of my tongue, but preferring the spear
and the greediness of those capitalistic warriors, you’re tone deaf
to what I spurt out, even if it could have not led to your untimely death
the world needs endless production, labor, dishonest souls
I say we all need quality, rest, more meaningful goals.

Why can’t I be the crazy one?
the one that boasts out of joy even in these dire times
the one that can waste decades in search of love and compassion
a reminder that life’s full attention
can be best transcribed in lines that rhyme
like a sweet tide that washes all out, moving on.

Why can’t I be the crazy one?
the one that can’t wait to sleep ‘till eternity.

--

--