Days One to Ten | Three Lines for 30 Days

Melissa Mirabai Zeligman
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readJul 17, 2017
Morning Light | Catskills | Melissa Zeligman

Day One |
Born from a deathly sea he wandered free.
Like the peacock in the forest of poisons.
An awakened one from his earliest breath.

Day Two |
Nested behind me, your arm draped along the arch of my body.
The sound, the movement of the rise and fall grants comfort.
The mingling of our pulses a soothing sentiment.

Day Three |
Relentless in your strength, your undulating grace.
Again and again and again you never cease to emerge.
Like an absent lover my body aches and longs to return to you.

Day Four |
We can never fully see ourselves alone, there is always that blind-spot, a not knowing.
Allowing, resisting, accepting, trusting the mirror of those along the way.
To give myself over to the beauty, vulnerability, wisdom, darkness, love. Sweet surrender.

Day Five |
I had that dream again last night.
The one where you didn’t break my heart.
Woke with melancholy and scar tissue.

Day Six |
I didn’t know what a real breath felt like until that day.
Closing my eyes, I smile remembering the moment.
I blush with the memory of what came next.

Day Seven|
Listening to you. Your questions, your fear, your desires, your regret, your shame, your wants, your needs.
In the stillness of the space between us the flood waters rose.
Never once did I consider letting you drift away or losing you to the sea, you took my hand.

Day Eight|
I forgot.
Your tongue was in my mouth and I was lost.
And here I am worried.

Day Nine |
One day, if only.
Tired of the waiting.
Taking another step.

Day 10 |
The moment after the cut you have a choice.
It is not about fairness or justice, you have a say in what happens next.
We have a wound, we are not our wound.

--

--

Melissa Mirabai Zeligman
Poets Unlimited

Woman, artist, poet, demure deviant, culinary concubine & says anything in the dark. Motto: both/and Mantra: No pleasure, no treasure. Desires all things SOFT