Rachna Nayak
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readAug 7, 2017

--

Dear memories

Dear memories,

Why don’t you leave?
Why do you cling on so hard on the wounds, that I wish to heal.
When everything goes on so nice-
a sunny day, blue sky, an ice-cream cone
you just turn up from the shadows, make me travel back
to the dark where I am all alone.

A heartfelt laugh being enjoyed with friends
but you come to haunt me back, while keeping up your past trends.

Dear Memories,
why don’t you leave?
The people who mattered have left.
The empty space in my heart where they rested,
is not a place for you to live,
it is where happiness needs to be rented,
it is where life is not taken for granted.
I cherish this present moment
and you can’t drag me to hell
which disguises itself as happiness now.

Dear memories,
I ask you to leave,
Please close the door on your way out,
I choose not to listen to your false stories,
no matter how hard you shout,
I chose to ignore you like the sun on a hot day,
I won’t ever look into your eyes
you can’t make we weak or burn my core.

Dear memories,
I choose to be a free bird now,
not your slave, not anymore

-Rachna Nayak

Thanks for stopping by. Read more stories — Previous : A word to Mona lisa

--

--