Dear Mississippi: my condolences to you

annie fahy
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readNov 28, 2018

Dear Mississippi my condolences to you.
Cruelty ignorance and blood pave the road
to your constitution.
Some voters still believe in a God that hates.
I grieve for the state that boasts
the most documented lynchings in America,
and elects a senator that jokes about
hanging in the town square.
I weep for the tender heart of its righteous
citizens. In America, in Mississippi
the land underneath is shifting.
Babies are born in Mississippi
Speaking these words on their birthday:
We hold these truths to be self-evident…
They will sing for justice.
Voting is their superpower.
Eloquence is their middle name.
My deep sorrow extends
as old white people frantic
grab the frayed ends of the noose
and whip it above
their metaphorically hooded heads
one more time. they are dying
they are dying. they are dying
.
©2018 annie fahy

--

--

annie fahy
Poets Unlimited

In the Big Picture, I am a small cameo of trouble and wonder.