Dear Sponge,

thewrathofsponge
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readDec 18, 2017
Artwork by Atey Ghailan on Artstation

I do not write this with any kind of glee,
I am not that free.
I do not write this at all
I expect you to infer this for yourself.

A year has passed,
At last, the contract has been fulfilled.
We’ve been friends for a year,
and I hear the social agreement,
is that you’re meant
to be withstood for a year.
That’s just what I hear.

And it has been a year.
Where our ground has been clear,
of any kind of drama or distaste.
There was no hate,
And you, even now, sate me.
Fate, however, is never late,
And I will not betray the norm.

Its a shame I had to move away at some point.
You should have, too.
We would have been together, I know you
Know.
It’s been a year, but more less than.
We’ve had our space,
extended,
by introversion.

But fate is never late
And I will not betray the norm.

So henceforth, thou shall not text me.
Believe me, I will blue tick you.

Thou shall not be able to find me.
I will not stop you from trying, though.
You will not stop me from hiding, though.

Maybe share memes, though.
They make me glow.

You seem bored with me, too.
I cannot see your evisceral desire to eviscerate the distance between us,
Most times.
Sometimes your hard spongy exterior weakens,
And your eyes betray your desire
And I feel you require more than,
Friendship.

Maybe say hi sometimes, too

No, don’t. I change my mind
I will not unwind.
Fate is never late and,
like all the other people who left before,
I will not betray the norm.

My Regards,

--

--