Source

Depression Takes the D from Devil

Leaving Evil and Making it Hard to Live

Ashley Gravett
Published in
2 min readMar 4, 2018

--

Depression is a little devil that
convinces you it isn’t there
while it completely takes over

I tell myself I don’t hear the whispers of doubt

of self-loathing…

of undeserving…

put a smile on my face when I am expected to present one
a survival skill learned long ago
and crumble into myself the rest of the time

everything is harder to see
when looking through a dense cloud
pretend does not exist

trying so hard to jump though life’s hoops
but it is so much harder to run alongside others when
no one knows I have fallen
into a hole I did not see
that everyone else seems to jump over

silent screams reach no one
as I am too stubborn to ask for help
to flag someone down, to inconvenience them

somewhere along this journey
I learned to believe I had to figure out
how to do it all myself
another survival skill
that worked then
but isn’t the answer now

I write about depression because it terrifies me
naming this evil is a small step
to taking some of its power away

--

--

Ashley Gravett
Poets Unlimited

Writer, dork, consumer of words, and lover of all things rainbow.