Depths

Jake Butler
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMar 30, 2016

--

The depths that I sink
consumed by blue abyss
twilight stifling daylight
something seems amiss.

Further down solitary confinement
nothing no contentment.

I hear a cry
full of guile
another lost soul
from thousands of miles.

Stifled no breath
need to rise need to breathe.

I search the depths
can they see
the beat of their heart
reverberates through me.

Closer they get
a nervous wreck.

Feelings I can’t fathom
knowing they’re the one
light encompasses
warmth of love and sun.

A silhouette appears
then disappears.

I'm overwhelmed
gliding ever closer
breaking the surface
tension taking over.

From the maze
through the haze.

Longing is gone
lost is found
feeling elated
floating above ground.

Two together
one forever.

Embracing
touch of their skin
my heart races
beating again.

Us in unison
beautiful fusion.

Their heart
next to mine
this moment forever
lost in time.

Originally published at rhyme.thecloudfactory.co.uk on March 30, 2016.

--

--