Discarded Treasure

Rebecca Saraceno
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMar 21, 2019
Photo by Aleksandr Ledogorov on Unsplash

A confection of discarded treasure
Blank pages filled with memories
I jolt as if I’m falling
Slipping and grasping as I drop

Blank pages filled with memories
Every leaf stained with richness
Slipping and grasping, I disappear
I know tomorrow I will resurface

Every page stained with life’s expression
Those times you feel too much
Yet tomorrow, I will resurface
The lessons begin again

Sometimes you feel so much
There’s simply no place to put it
The lessons will begin as scheduled
And I continue to show up on time

There’s simply not enough space
So I jolt as if I’m falling
But I always show up on time
Like a confection of discarded treasure.

--

--

Rebecca Saraceno
Poets Unlimited

Editor, Writer, Seeker. Believes unequivocally in the value of connection, the power of words and animals as sentient beings.