Edgar Allan Poe’s Facebook Lament

Davy Carren
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readNov 3, 2017

--

I dreamt that thou liked my post

Then woke to what I fear most

No hearts, no red badges, no comments, no thread

Just never-viewed space that filled me with dread

Ere the wide world could peer

Ruin my spirits and jeer

I punched delete with a soul-sapped rue

And to my post bid a hasty adieu

Now there’s just tagged blankness

Where once my post did wear

In click-baiting rankness

Algorithms of care

Perhaps ‘morrow shall bring

Hope for new likes and smiles

When of new posts I sing

The shares shall go for miles

But ’til then I am off

This foul braggart’s banquet

Where haters doth toss scoff

To suit taste’s etiquette

Farewell, ye posts of yore

Laid in graves evermore

I remember thee best

‘Fore a screenshot’s request

Read thine rights last no more

--

--