Empty Office

Alex Hanna
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readApr 4, 2019

--

This is what I feel on a Friday, sitting in an empty office…

sitting here all alone
empty office
barren to the bone
all i want
is for you to see
see how lonely
i can be
and choose to be
here with me
in loneliness
becoming “we”
you show me how
to unfurl my brow
lead me to the window
gazing out
out toward the sun
i forgot was there
i didn’t care
a flattened lung
a breath of air
the first time rare
my skin so bare
it burned a burn
for which i yearned
i turned my face
i held my place
soaked up all
the magnificent grace
all because
you showed me how
show me where
took my hand
led me there
without you
i don’t know where
where i’d be
what i’d see
probably just this
office empty
i don’t know where
where i’d be
all alone
just myself and me

--

--

Alex Hanna
Poets Unlimited

Perpetual poet, technologist, all around curious person. Sharing his truth one word at a time.