Failure’s Price

Aide Ojigbede
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readJan 11, 2016
globalwitness.org

Every waking moment
And even more
When you are sleeping
The time is steady creeping
You can feel your problems
Deepen
Buy the latest Jeep and
Make sure that you are keeping
Up with the Joneses,
The Ajayis and Okonses
Your burdens are for bearing
Your money’s not for sharing
Your fears are always staring
In your face, and they’ll be jeering
With all the others
If you fail

Focus like a nail
Get the Holy Grail
What? The risks? Only jail
Or you just might kick the pail
Huh, the bucket? Man, stuff it
Doesn’t hold more than a drum
I sell a billion then I’m done
One more deal? No, chill
That much for real? That’s a kill
Sign me up, I’ll do the deed
And let the fish rot in the fields
If there’s yet another spill
I’ll just pass on the butcher’s bill
There are friends aplenty down the hill
Waiting only for the kill
If I fail

Protect my own
Defend my zone
From the fools and madmen
Throwing stones
They want to bring a better day
They claim that there’s a better way
The clichéd idiots really think
That they can quench the burning stink
They’ll tear things up
And pull things down
And turn this evil mess around
They’ll scrub our institutions clean
And teach our kids what caring means
They’ll even drop the price of garri and beans
You and I? We’ll watch, we’ll wait
And then we’ll take it all again
When they fail.

--

--

Aide Ojigbede
Poets Unlimited

Reading. Writing. Fake Pessimist. Afrofuturist Transhuman.