Fate, meet Destiny

Máyọ̀wá
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readOct 26, 2017

I wonder if babies are scared of being born
of being reborn
traveling from existence to existence
like going to sleep and knowing you’ll never wake up
your dreams becoming your truth

Is dreaming dying?
well, at my funeral pass the gin
and twerk a little
this is a celebration

Is this all I wanted?
Is it enough?
Is it too much?
“This is the best thing to ever happen to you!”
Is it?
“It is.”

When you’re on the cusp of greatness
which of your emotions leads the battalion
and who is carrying the flag?
what color is it?

While most fall into this moment
here I am standing at the door
and I have the key
but I think
I’ll rent a bulldozer
and run this whole wall down.

--

--

Máyọ̀wá
Poets Unlimited

Nigerian-American. Wishes she could speak her mother tongue like her mother's tongue. Regaining my kàlore after living a mostly invisible life.