Annie Spratt via Unsplash

fields of violets

Kamila Zguzi
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJul 27, 2018

--

there is a place
on the side of the rail tracks
where the thick grass grows out of the earth
long and
unkempt
like the windswept hair
where the flowers are wild
their heads turn to you in a whisper
when you come

this field is covered in bodies
of mice and cats
green beetles and fat flies
I take my body there
when I need
rest
I take your body there
when I need
love

you undress me from my flowers
on the ground
and the grass stings
my back
and your heart
kisses my neck
the white daisies blush
while the red poppies spread their petals
to look at us
with only one, black eye

one time she wanted to scream
her hands stiffened
her mouth parted
and a white butterfly
flew out
from beneath her
solitary, pink tongue

I remember her
she gently opened
under my touch
when her body
released
the repeated sweetness of the elderberry
and I drank her whole.

--

--

Kamila Zguzi
Poets Unlimited

I write when I feel, which is pretty much all the time.