by Conner Baker via Unsplash

first light

Kamila Zguzi
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readDec 26, 2017

--

sometimes I think that we live in the times
of violent love
I remember it from the time when I was young
when my thoughts were younger than now
when people held hands in the rain
I remember that back then
I was fighting in the hell of my youth
I remember it now

so I walk the roads
the urban heavens and crematories
of that youth
most of the time
the outsides are soaked in water
most of the time
you walk through days and hours
all dolled up in misery
ever without light
but sometimes you are lucky
and when it greets you
when it flaps its wings like a big bird
your head does not know how to handle it
the good face, the lean, dark eyes
the sweetness
you do not know how to look at it
how to eat with that good mouth
your hands get almost lost on the sidewalk
it’s like coming back to church after many years
of hiding

today
I looked at him thinking
that after two hundred years of darkness
he is my first sun

Thank you for coming to read me — you can help me to write more if you like.

--

--

Kamila Zguzi
Poets Unlimited

I write when I feel, which is pretty much all the time.