Flirting with Anonymity

Ron Fielder
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMar 14, 2018
Uniformity hiding individuals in plain sight

From time to time I’ve felt inclined
to sign myself Anon.,
or go pseudonymous, choose a more
impressive name than Ron.

Bill Shakespeare said it: what’s in a name?
Choose Rose or Sally or Kate;
the child remains as beautiful,
as fortunate her fate.

I considered Phineas, Anatole,
Horatio and Holly,
Andromeda and Pericles,
Aubrey, Tom and Molly.

Each name became a role to play,
starring, not giving a damn.
How tempting never to have to admit
to who I really am.

But people are distinguished by
their work — that is my boast;
and I call in witness Jones the Milk,
Dai Bread and Dai the Post.

So if you really feel you must
receive a calling card,
it’s as good as any other, you
can call me John the Bard.

I might have said John Doggerel, if
the rhyme was not so hard.

--

--

Ron Fielder
Poets Unlimited

Ex folkie, ex IBM, now into Bulgarian & Irish music and looking for a youth elixir (got any?).