Fool’s Paradise

Cristina Archer
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readFeb 13, 2019
a budding flower

Why are you doing this to me?
A torment as endless as time.
Putting me through this torture?
Robbing me of my peaceful state
of false invulnerability.

My wandering thoughts sealed up
under the cover of dark brooding nights.
Awake and aware, desperately attempting
to shut the mind and body
from the enclosing, entrapping provocation
of the echoed suggestions of your voice.
Each sound weighted by the heavy regrettable memory.
A haunting face crowning each hour intolerable.
Frightened into despairing anticipation.
Disappointment is the promise never kept.
It’s a sign of insecurity.
And yet I put myself through it?

Being held below thin ice.
The lack of air is suffocating
a desolate attempt at resistance.
A reminder of the first fatal partnership.
A never-ending wheel
is the sign of my weakness called lustfulness.
Events turning to the same mistake.
Two partners in crime
the coexistence of breakup extremes.
Forsaking the final costs
in this state of total oblivion.

Being caught in the same trap again.

___________________________
Thanks for reading! Enjoyed it? Share it — or follow me on Twitter or Medium

--

--

Cristina Archer
Poets Unlimited

political whipping girl, writer (speculative fiction/poetry/life), aspiring photographer, wig collector, with Méchant Publishing and Rowanvale Books