For Whom the Cock Crows

annie fahy
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readNov 10, 2018
SHHHH Mother is tired ©2018 annie fahy

Now eyes open
from my sleep
something nudges
from the deep.

I wake a little
to a world that’s broke
assess its suffering
a little bit woke.

It hurts inside me
so I make a drink
I need to chill —
not have to think.

Now my country
‘’Tis of Thee
give a poor man a dollar
Hooray for me.

Little by little
Come what may
My privilege to look
Or walk away.

I feel so guilty
I feel so low
Go back to sleep
With dreams of woe.

The man on the street
Surrounded by the law
Wakes me up
America’s flaw.

Twitter facebook
Here and there
See injustice
Or fix my hair.

Now our kids
They grow up woke
Social Justice
Register to vote.

One bright day
No more sleeping
Wake to waking
Beyond weeping.

Brothers and sisters
In creation
Let’s repair this fucked up
Nation.
©2018 annie fahy

--

--

annie fahy
Poets Unlimited

In the Big Picture, I am a small cameo of trouble and wonder.