Forgotten

SouthpawPoet
Poets Unlimited
1 min readDec 7, 2017

--

After all those years
I had forgotten that ailment
Suddenly I was reminded
I was simply made of flesh

I started to feel the symptoms
Would not believe it was true
I looked at you for diagnosis
Your eyes seemed to confirm

I fell sick and no-one
could heal me
I tried to fight it alone,
my sickness I could not confess

In my delirium I lost
all logic, sanity, conscience
I got high and I got hurt
some nights seemed to have no end

Some mornings I wanted
not to get awake
stay in bed, counting stars
until the fever had left

Out of my head
I was raving nonsense
Improper behaviour too
I’m afraid

Sometimes your eyes
looked starry and vitreous
I then believed
that you were sick too

Only time could heal me
Time would also make me forget
pain and sensations
of a woman’s flesh.

--

--

SouthpawPoet
Poets Unlimited

The Left Hand of God is a Poet. Happy in the humble service of the Word.