Photo by Mitch Lensink on Unsplash

Free

Steve Frank
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJul 2, 2019

--

I didn’t think…
Didn’t think I would be,
ㅤ I could be,
That strong.
But I was.
Finally…

I was.

The same offer presented.
The same opportunity proposed.
An escape,
ㅤ dangled.
But I held back.
Resisted.

For…

The opportunity,
ㅤ was no opportunity.
The offer…
ㅤ no offer.
The escape,
ㅤ no escape.

I always thought,
ㅤ always hoped,
I could stay.
Hoped that staying would lead to…

Escape

Escape from problems.
Escape from trouble.
Escape into safety.
Escape into…

Connection

But trouble … remained.
Problems … persisted.
Connection … did not grow.
Relationship … non-existent.

So,
ㅤ finally,
I was…

Strong

Finally,
ㅤ I said…

No

Finally,
ㅤ I was…

Free

--

--

Steve Frank
Poets Unlimited

A programmer discovering himself in poetry…a lifetime preparing to write, now finally putting pen to paper. You’ll find me in my poetry.