Lunatic thoughts
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readMay 8, 2016

--

Funny, how the reality that we think we live in is something completely different for another person.

And how the words we never said to each other have been said by other people dozens of times.

Funny, how the look I wanted to see on your face was seen by someone else and how my clustering tears have been just raindrops on someone’s windowsill.

Funny, how everything that I have ever lost has been found by someone else and taken home and made their own over time.

Frankly, it’s astonishing, how the pain that feels so real to me is just a stomachache for someone else.

And the rips in my heart are just scratches on someone’s phone.

How your unfelt fingertips on my skin are giving someone else goosebumps and our nights not spent together are softly singing someone into their sleep.

Funny.

But we are never as alone as we think we are.

Never as unwanted and insignificant as we think we are.

Never as ugly as we think we are.

But also never as mistaken as we think we are.

And so yes, it’s funny, how exactly at the same moment, as I turned away and went home, someone else stayed.

How precisely at the same moment that you kept standing there, someone was smiling.

How my broken memories were just a scattered vase on someone’s floor and my shaking hands were rose petals next to the tiny pieces.

We go in circles, but don’t find ourselves at the same place in the end.

So what is it, that stays unspoken?

Rain is gently tapping on my windowsill…someone is crying.

--

--