GALENE

Farhan Shaikh
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readJan 10, 2019
©Farhan Shaikh

Through the day, I search the sea;
Gazing far, on each galloping wave,
Each shell that comes with it,
Hoping it will carry my dreams.

See, I lost them years ago,
Into the sea, where I went for the picnic.
I, 16, in the water millions of years old,
And then I too aged by a million years.

For the sea etched its secrets under my skin.
The sands seeped through my pores.
I imbued the love, the blood, the dirt,
And the gold that the sea carries ashore.

I looked around and there was she,
Staring right into the burning sky.
There was no smile on her silent face,
Her lips mirrored the horizon afront.

Further, she walked,
And shut her eyes like the night,
Darkness, I imagined, she saw.
The same darkness that lay beneath our feet.

Gushing waters, slapped her hands,
Perhaps pleading her to turn away.
The sea ahead won’t be kind,
It knows not to return a life.

So, I stared down, saw the sea kissing my feet,
Perhaps asking me to save her, I thought naively
The water cleansed my feet white.
Against the brown bed, I watched my feet move.

It was Galene, I found
And with her, my previous dreams
It was not I, who saved her, nor the sea
It was she who would save me.

So, I walked towards her,
The sea controlling my limbs.
And my body fell, into the water.
And I, in her embrace.

--

--

Farhan Shaikh
Poets Unlimited

Mumbai based journalist. I write poetry and fiction on Medium; facts for the newspaper.