Gorgeous, don’t fail me now

Fox Kerry
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readSep 25, 2017

waters blue and wobbly legs. Rope check.

heart so full it explodes to thank somebody for this. Leg check.

I’m a god, with skinny legs. Joy check.

This was worth every penny I stole from the Piggy Bank: Helmet check.

Every breath is as sweet as ripe blackberries: Weight check.

Was it 3 steps back and then uncinch some more rope? Brain check.

I think a pelican just flew over my head. Beauty check.

Oh shit, my foot missed that rock, dangling, hangling in mid-air for a moment, I didn’t come up here to die, wasn’t worth that much, where was that bit of wall again, come on legs don’t fail me now, oh shit (I don’t even cuss), I don’t want to die (I mean no offense, this is the perfect spot to die, but not today). Oh there you are wall, nice, so ever-fricking nice to feel that solidness again, I didn’t come here to fly, not today. Whewwww. Hooooooo. Whewwww. Whoooooooo. It’s good to be alive: Death Rain Check

-More on the kinds of things that cause you to go over the edge.

--

--

Fox Kerry
Poets Unlimited

If you paint for me even one thing which is true, perhaps I’ll be tempted to consider two. I tell tales poetically, someone else needs to set them to music.