Grandma

Matthew Miller
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readNov 27, 2016

Can you wish on the wings of a butterfly?
Can you sing as the breeze on the sea?
Can you speak with the voice of a lullaby?
For that’s how my Grandma loves me.

If all the sweethearts and the mothers
Were bundled up into a seed,
That seed would bloom as her flower -
That’s how my Grandma loves me.

Her joy is to see others happy;
I think that the best kind of love.
In her I see the Beauty
Of Him that came from Above.

I love my Grandmama dearly,
I wish we never would part,
And though one day she must leave us,
She’ll always live on in my heart.

One day when I have some children,
I’ll sit them up on my knee,
And tell them all the old stories
Of how my Grandma loved me.

--

--

Matthew Miller
Poets Unlimited

Writer, web developer, folk musician, attempted poet.