Hide-and-Seek Love

Immanuel R. Knight
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readDec 13, 2016
Die Gartenlaube (1897), Ernst Keil’s Nachfolger, Public Domain

“Find me”, she says,
At time’s begin

“Chase me”, she declares,
Before forever began

“Seek me”, she commands,
In cold oblivion

“Discover me”, she whispers,
Our breath within

She,
All the sweeter, sweetest hider,
Present in plainest sight

We,
Blind and blinder, blindest to her,
Our mother of all-ever light

We seek her out in prayer and hope
But I tell you now you need not a pope!

This hide and seek we play with her
To love ourselves, sweet dreams deferred

Her game is infinite, yet has its end,
Where love begins, all souls ascend!

Remember now this play you’re in,
To love and long…

Her heart you’ll win!

--

--

Immanuel R. Knight
Poets Unlimited

Don’t let the dark times get you down. Wandering ways with words.