Photo by Ian Cooly (from Upsplash)

His Piano

Diana Raab
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJan 15, 2019

--

My son sits at his grand piano,

back erect, fingers in place on glistening white keys,

unstirred by sounds of lawn mowers, dogs barking,

and airplanes flying above.

I plop down on our green velour sofa to listen,

yet embarrassed don’t recognize his tunes,

or names of all those songs he’s created.

I’m yanked into my seventeen-year-olds world;

as he fills our high-ceiling room with his magic.

Five songs later, he motions me to his stool,

smiles into my eyes and places my fingers on his keys.

I am paralyzed, tone deaf, and can’t recall a note.

I don’t want his spot. I tell him I’d rather listen.

I return to our sofa, where I sit like a sponge

and a faucet at the same time. My tears hold me hostage

as my son’s music soothes me.

How will I ever thank him for the joy he brings to my life

and his perfect posture I pestered him with as a child?

--

--

Diana Raab
Poets Unlimited

Award-winning author/poet/blogger. Speaks and writes on writing for healing & transformation. Visit: dianaraab.com