Hopelessness In America

Thi Nguyen
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readOct 7, 2018
Photo by Randy Fath on Unsplash

Lights out, excluded, dropped off and forgotten. Media talks, white men safety, fake news rotten.

So much rage and confusion, a seat at a table elusion. Same same but different, all a convenient delusion.

What a divide between partisan parties. Why must we hate so hard and push each other away? Away away a wry, so many cries. Black and white, you’re different, I’ll defy. No gray areas. “You’re wrong, I’m right.” Everyone is out except those that are men and white.

But to hate those that hate you, is that not hypocrisy? Last I heard, this was a democracy. Why are we forgetting our humanity? So much hurt, so much pain, based on fear and power, this life will not sustain.

As a woman of color, I stand and see ahead, but in defeat, I limply hang my head. Sad to say I am blind to a horizon. All I see is a hell manifested in which we all lie in.

I don’t belong here. Filled with a sense of powerless and hopelessness, as this nation sheds the people that make it special, so have I hated myself, a theme I often wrestle.

I’m not special. They don’t want me. I don’t belong in this country.

--

--