How many choices do I have left?

Shaleen Rakesh
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMay 4, 2016

I wonder if there is finite number of choices allotted to each of us and I’ve used them all?
Big ones like domesticity, career, I think I’ve exhausted
Smaller ones like which fruit to buy and where to get milk are still available I guess

There are other choices which simply won’t show up anymore

they have vanished
made redundant by commitments and the march of time:
like keeping my eyes open when falling in love
with you for the second time

or dancing and touching because we didn’t know
where to put our hands

but my favorite is:
walking barefoot on the beach
without a worry in the world

Is that still available?

--

--

Shaleen Rakesh
Poets Unlimited

Poet, warrior and urban monk. dead-in-the-woods activist and daydreamer. I write on relationships, love, intimacy and loss