How to Write Poetry

James Hanna-Magill
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJul 27, 2017

Writing verse is my game

Ending lines with words the same.

In couplets is all that’s asked

Or internal rhyme though vast the task.

Meter is important too

Ensuring beats as I do

That always measure equal

Without a further sequel.

*

I beg your pardon may I say

I prefer free verse where actually rules aren’t important

And you can end each line without choosing

A meaningless word that sounds the same or indeed making lines exactly the same length at all

Or stanzas for that matter.

A new way I have found

By strict canons I am no longer bound … obliged to abide.

Free I am to daily sing

With words that do not always ring … sound alike.

*

To you therefore I this poem do proffer … have written

So you see how much I have to offer … I’m smitten

Ah s**t and f**k it!

© 2017 James Hanna-Magill

--

--