I am burning… for what?

Sriteja Reddy Wudaru
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readAug 24, 2019

A warning from Earth

I am burning
For what?
For you?
My children, millions,
Animals that freely roam my forests
Birds that soar through my skies
Fish that swim in my seas
Plants, trees and tiny saplings
All of them dying, dead
For what?

My ice melting, leaving my children
Without food, my rivers drying up
My forests cut down and burnt
Millions of species disappeared
Engulfed in flames, for what?
For the survival of one?

This is not a cry or plea from me
This is rather a warning
A warning to you to stop being so selfish
Stop exploiting me more
Stop burning me more
Stop taking me for granted

You, humans, are but just one species
In this vast world where a million others live
All of them, my children
All of you, my children
And I can choose to ignore one for the rest
This is not a cry, nor a plea, but a warning
That you need me, and not the other way round
You can’t survive without me
But I will survive long after you’re gone
’Cause I don’t need you

We’re not the only species here, but it’s our only planet. Please worry about Earth.

--

--

Sriteja Reddy Wudaru
Poets Unlimited

Researcher. Author. Novelist. Poet. Storyteller. Poetry collection, ‘Unspoken Words’, out now. Check out my Medium profile for details.