Burnt

Ankita Chauhan
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readNov 21, 2016
Photo Credit: Ryan McGuire

Let’s burn the world
And venge a war
And burn and burn and burn
If one says no to your ways
You burn
If one dares to live on his terms
You burn
If one is not like you
You burn
Burn the world they live in
Forgetting that you live in it too
Nevertheless you burn
Fire rises and approaches your nest
Now where will you run
The ocean closes, the wall rises
The glacier drips
Drip drip drip
Tick tick tick time closes
Did you burn everything
or did anything remain
Your soul, your pain
the cynical curl of your lips
Everything burnt
Hands plunging in despair
You breathe a toxic fire
Your eyes burn, so do your lungs
Suffocated, are you not yet
So you burn and burn and burn even more
Suffocated, there is no air
I can’t breathe
I can’t breathe
I want to breathe
I gasp for air
But still I burn
I burn
I burn.

<11/02/2016>

--

--