lightening in a field

I Rose To Meet You

Sandy Knight
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readApr 29, 2016

--

I rose to meet you

the flash of light

in the bedroom

heralds

your arrival

you are not my enemy

nor my friend

you are the place

where things begin

once begun, so too

their end

I rose to meet you

the thunder rolled

and uncoiled differently

like a knock

at the door

a jiggle at the lock

you wanted in

would you stay or not?

I rose to meet you

on my porch we stood

you clambering on about mysteries

and patterns unknown

me thinking about regrets

pushing them aside

clinching my jaw

refusing to cry

in the sudden flashes and crackling hiss

you could see me

momentarily

for the briefest bit

alone, waiting

in my rebelliousness

I rose to meet you

s lynn knight 2016

--

--